parenting book binge

Posted on

When I start any project, I have to go nuts and read everything about it. I wouldn’t exactly call a baby a project, but I feel like I have to read every parenting book there is out there. I feel like I don’t know what I’m doing. Well I have an idea, but I feel like there might be something really important that I might be missing. Of course, now that G is 8 months old, I read about all the things I should have done when he was first born. So far I haven’t done anything horribly wrong, but there are things I may have done differently.

I just finished reading a book called the Science of Parenting by Margot Sunderland. It was very stressful to read, because it talks about how your parenting choice can actually effect your child’s brain development. We are hoping to enroll our son in an infant program at a Montessori school, so now I have to read everything I can get my hands on about that. I’ve started Montessori from the start by Paul Polk Lillard, Raising an Amazing Child the Montessori Way and Teach Me to Do it Myself. I also got The Power of Play by David Elkind out of the library. I think I went a little overboard to start.

If I had read about it before I had G, I would not have thought it was safe, but I’m really intrigued by the Montessori baby bed. G hates his crib and loves being in a bed. I don’t know if it would work.

Leave a Reply

