Going Way Back…

Posted on

At some point I would like to do a personal Classics challenge along the lines of what Danielle is doing with Shakespeare. A while back I went through a Medieval Lit. phase. I found the syllabus for a Med. Lit. class and read some of the books on the list that I hadn’t read. Ok. So, I also read Beowulf again, but I wanted to read Seamus Heaney’s new translation. After reading it three times, I still can’t remember it. I still haven’t read Dante’s Inferno. I don’t think I’ll be up to that any time soon.

I never took a class in Classical Literature, so I wanted to fill in some gaps. My husband and I read the Illiad and the Odyssey together, so I don’t need to read those. Here’s my list:

The Aeneid ~ Virgil (John Falges trans.)
Horace ~ Odes
Metamorphoses ~ Ovid
Collected Poems of C.P. Cavafy (Ok, so this is modern, but it’s related)

2 thoughts on “Going Way Back…

    Danielle said:
    May 31, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I like doing these sorts of little personal reading challenges/reading programs. I am starting on my next Shakespeare play. I like the idea of reading some classical lit, too. I have The Illiad and Odyssey, which I wanted to read this year, but I am not sure I will get to them now. Eventually.

    ta said:
    June 7, 2007 at 12:41 am

    I guess that’s the great thing about the classics – they’re always around to read. Thanks for commenting. I’ve been bad about posting, so it helped me put something up. I started A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The more I read Shakespeare. The easier it gets. I haven’t read the essay in Shakespeare After All. I need to do that. That is such a great book. I need something like that for Morte D’Arthur.

Leave a Reply

