Bees and Books

Posted on

For some strange reason, I like bees and beekeeping. I don’t keep bees personally, but I loved when they would buzz around me in my community garden. We had all different kinds of bees and wasps. In are yard now, we only have yellow jackets and they are the meanest little things with wings. Anyway, I just read an article in the New Yorker called Stung about the disappearing bees. It was a little frightening. The bees are essential for pollinating many of the crops in the US, but they are having serious problems with Colony Collapse and the native bees probably can’t keep up with the demand.

bee.gifAfter reading about this book, I started thinking about books I like about bees. One of my favorites is the Beekeeper’s Pupil by Sara George. This is a fictionalized account of Francois Huber who studied bees in the 18th Century. Huber was blind and hired a young man, Francois Burnens, to help him with his research. Burnens grows from being Hubers servant to his research assistant. I loved the combination of historical fiction with history of science.

I also enjoyed but didn’t finish the book called The Forgotten Pollinators by Stephen Buchmann and Gary Paul Nabhan that illustrates that honeybees aren’t the only pollinators out there. They’re project is based at the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum in Tucson.

Finally, I have on my list to read the book Robbing the Bees: A Biography of Honey by Holley Bishop. I really wish we had some honey bees in our yard. I get tired of the yellow jackets that give bees a bad name.

Leave a Reply

