serendipity

Posted on

A bright day, a day for a beginning. Through my window, which I left wide open, an unrestrained intoxication rushes into the narrow room and abolishes consciousness.
~George Seferis

seferis.jpgI am currently weeding our literature collection at the library (please rest easy booklover’s it is a good thing I promise) I came across George Seferis’s A Poet’s Journal: Days of 1945-1951. I opened it up and the above quote was the first thing that I read. It is that kind of day here. Unfortunately there are no windows to open. I’ve never heard of George Seferis even though he was a Nobel Lauriate. It bothers me sometimes how little I know about world literature even though I try to be open to it. I’m going to add this book to my evergrowing list.

Leave a Reply

