The case of the toppling nightstand

Posted on

Ok, so it’s not quite there yet, but if you look at the books that I have listed as on my nightstand (I am truly reading all of them at once) and add to that the books I have on hold you can see the trouble I’m in. Add to that the three tubes of teething gel, Little Noses, tissue box, baby journal, elastics and oh did I mention the lamp. Well you know it’s a disaster waiting to happen.

Hopefully my holds won’t all come in at the same time, but you know that they always do. I’m waiting for the two biggies for this fall Denis Johnson’s Tree of Smoke and The brief wondrous life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. I haven’t read Junot Diaz, but people have been waiting for this book forever, so I’m hoping it’s worth the hype. I loved Jesus’ Son, which I’m re-reading in anticipation. Tree of Smoke is getting such great reviews and at over 600 pages it better be good. I loved this quote from the NY Times Book Review:

But unlike most books about the dispossessed, they’re original (how strange it feels to use that word these days, but it fits), and what’s more, deliriously beautiful — ravishing, painful; as desolate as Dostoyevsky, as passionate and terrifying as Edgar Allan Poe.

On a lighter note, I’ve been waiting for Animal, Vegetable, Miracle for what seems like forever. I’m not in a rush to read it. I love Barbara Kingsolver. But there are plenty of books about eating locally. My favorite is Coming Home to Eat by Gary Paul Nabhan. I’m sure Kingsolver must have known him or at least heard of him, because he is from Tucson. I just read about Sixpence House: Lost in a Town of Books on A Life in Books, so I had to add that to my list. I saw the book Mr. Sebastian and the Negro Magician by Daniel Wallace on a BookSense flyer, so I added that, too. I can’t even remember what it’s about. What am I going to do when all these books come in! Read, read, read.

Leave a Reply

