Airmchair Traveler Update

Posted on

sandokan.jpg“To read is to travel without all the hassles of luggage.” —Emilio Salgari (1863-1911)

My husband read the following quote to me last night. It was at the beginning of Sandokan: The Tigers of Mompracem. He would probably do a good job with the Airmchair Traveler Challenge as he prefers to read adventure classics. He is thrilled that there is a new previously unpublished, Alexandre Dumas book coming out. I guess I mention his reading tastes just because I think it’s more in the spirit of the challenge than what I have read.

I’ve read several books that fit the criteria of the challenge, but they don’t really inspire me to travel to the countries being discussed. First I read the second Mobile Library Mystery,Mr. Dixon Disappears. Set in Northern Ireland, it the countryside is described in various shades of gray. Next I read a wonderful book The Septembers of Shiraz by Dalia Sofer about life after the Iranian Revolution. This book was very good, but not an advertisement for the Iranian Tourism Board. Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson was inspiring and proof that there are a few good people in the world. His descriptions of Northern Pakistan particularly the Baltoro and the Hushe Valley were wonderful and I did want to go there, but I might as well hope to climb Mt. Everest. Finally, I’m reading the Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. I’ll be writing more on that in the future, but I’ll just say I’m not sure I ever want to go to the Dominican Republic after reading this book. I think I would just think about all the bad things that happened there. When I finish this book, I think I’m going to take a break from the overly serious and read Sixpence House about Hay-on-Wye. I don’t think any of these books were on my original list. I hate commitment when it comes to reading!

Leave a Reply

