Moving on to Chapter Books

Posted on

I do a lot of reading with my son, and I’d like to write more about that here because he probably reads 20 books to my 1. I’ve put some of our favorites in Picture Books We Love, but I really should keep a tab of all the books we’ve read. I’ve already forgotten many of them. We have recently started reading chapter books. I feel like we have come a long way. I remember when he was first born and he wasn’t at all interested in hearing stories. I started one page at a time with Good Night Moon. I was beside myself that he wasn’t born a voracious reader. 17 months later he is totally hooked on reading and will pick out books and wiggle his bottom on to my lap and present them for me to read. I wasn’t sure when to start reading chapter books, because he still can’t handle too many densely worded picture books. I asked our Children’s Librarian and she said around 2, but another co-worker suggested the Mr. Putter and Tabby series by Cynthia Rylant. He likes them. We may only read a chapter or two and sometimes he falls asleep which is the point. I think the series is very sweet and the  illustrations compliment the story very well. It’s all part of my ploy to make me son a nice, sweet boy even though he loves trucks and diggers.

Leave a Reply

