2007 Wrap-up

Posted on Updated on

Well everyone is posting their tallies, so I guess I’ll add mine too. I get a little overwhelmed when I see people’s totals in the high double digits. I normally read about 25-30 books a year. Well I added mine up and I read a record 50 books this year. I couldn’t believe it. It must be all that nap-time reading and taking the bus. I guess my house would look better if I did some cleaning during nap, but we all have different priorities. I know some people included picture books in their tallies, but I couldn’t possibly keep track. There are days when I’ve read 10 books to my son before lunchtime and there was a time when I felt like I read Good Night Moon every night. I wish I’d written down all the books that we’ve read, but I just can’t seem to manage it. I try to write down the ones that are particular favorites. Here are my favorites for 2007 in no particular order:

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak ~ If I was a less civilized person, this is the one that I would be strapping people into comfy chairs and forcing them to read
Divisadero – Michael Ondatjee – What can I say? I love the beautiful language and the mystery. Ondatjee has never disappointed me yet.
The Known World – Edward P. Jones – Wonderful writing, history, all rolled into one remarkably thought-provoking first novel.
Petropolis – Anya Ulinich – I loved Ulinich’s smart, unique voice.
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao – Junot Diaz ~ This book really broke my heart. I don’t think I’ve read a book that wove the past and the present together so seamlessly.
The Last Chinese Chef – Nicole Mones ~ Ok, I’m a sucker for books about food.
The Golden Compass Series – Philip Pullman ~ I loved these books almost as much as Harry Potter. I thought his treatment of religion was fascinating. People must not pay attention, otherwise these would be banned much more often than the Potter books.
In the Company of the Courtesan
– Sarah Dunant ~ Ok, I’m also a sucker for insanely detailed historical novels.
Twilight – Stephenie Meyer ~ Vampires are not normally my thing, but it’s true, I did try to force my son to nap longer so I could finish this book.
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – J.K. Rowling – All good things must come to an end.

Leave a Reply

