Reading in the New Year

Posted on

This isn’t something I would normally do, but I’ve seen some other folks doing it, so I thought I might try jotting down some reading ideas for this year. Not resolutions. I’ve said before, I love to be spontaneous in my reading. I tend to get cranky if I’m pressured to read anything that doesn’t feel right. I’ve noticed that there are a ton of new challenges. We’ve posted a bunch over at Read This! I decided to join a few for real this time. I can’t wait to get started on the short story challenge. I’m going to pick my ten stories over the next few days. I love to read non-fiction, particularly science related, so I’m going to join the Planet Earth Challenge. I’m also considering the Russian Lit and 19th C. Women Authors challenges. We’ll see. That seems like a lot of commitment. I’d like to try and read more literary bios and/or journals. I’ve been slacking on my poetry, too. Anyway, here’s my list. I’m not sticking to it!

Moby Dick – Herman Melville
The Sound and the Fury – William Faulkner
Outside History – Eavan Boland (for the third or fourth time)
The Art of Fiction – John Gardner
A biography about or criticism by John Gardner
The Zoo on the Road to Nablus: A Story of Survival from West Bank – Amelia Thomas
Evening Is the Whole Day by Preeta Samarasan
Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
Breath – Philip Levine

Leave a Reply

