Short Story Challenge

Posted on

shortstorychallenge.jpgWell, I thought I’d start this challenge off by reading Stephen King’s introduction to the Best American Short Stories. I’m not a big fan of his novels, but I’ve read and liked some of his short stories. Plus, I want to see what all the fuss is about. I’ve checked out The Lonely Voice by Frank O’Connor, so I think I’m going to read some of that. I’ve compiled a list of stories that I’ve picked from various places including other people’s lists. I also picked out a few stories from editions of The Best American Short Stories edited by some of my favorite authors: Michael Chabon, Barbara Kingsolver and Lorrie Moore. In one of these books a previous reader kindly rated the first 10 or so stories, so I picked one of the few that s/he gave 3 checks. One of the stories the reader noted as being awful. I read the first couple of sentences and decided awful or no, I wasn’t going to read it. I need to come up with 3 more, but I’ll add those in the next few days. Well here is my tentative list of stories:

1. Isak Dinesen’s ~ “The Blank Page”
2. Jean Stafford ~ “Children are Bored on Sunday” (from the compilation Wonderful Town: New York Stories from the New Yorker)
3. Dorothy West ~ “The Baby”
4. Rick Bass ~ “The Fireman” (this was the one that got 3 checkmarks)
5. Sherman Alexie ~ “What You Pawn I Will Redeem”
6. Alix Ohlin – “Simple Exercises for the Beginning Student”
7. Something from a current issue of The New Yorker, Atlantic Monthly or Harper’s

Leave a Reply

