Moby Dick

Posted on

mobydickth.jpgI’m on my way with this “leviathan.” Ok, I haven’t seen any whales yet, but I’m enjoying it much more than I thought. I guess I thought for some reason that it would be boring and it could have been, if the writing were not as good. Ishmael’s observations allude to a subtle sense of humor. This passage in particular struck me as funny:

Long usage had, for this Stubb, converted the jaws of death into an easy chair. What he thought of death itself, there is no telling. Whether he ever thought of it at all might be a question; but, if he ever did chance to cast his mind that way after a comfortable dinner, no doubt like a good sailor, he took it to be a sort of call of the watch to tumble aloft, and bestir themselves there, about something which he would find out when he obeyed the order, and not sooner.

First off, I didn’t know they had easy chairs back then. Since obviously they did, what would it be like. Frankly, I think of an easy chair as something that was invented in the seventies. Anyway, that image just cracked me up.  Easy chair images aside, it’s certainly a wonderful approach to death. Especially in this day and age when people do whatever they can to defy aging let alone death.

2 thoughts on “Moby Dick

    jeane said:
    January 18, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    It literally took me two and a half months to read Moby Dick! That was five years ago; and at the time I vowed I’d never read it again. But lately I’ve felt a hankering to go back to it… I hope you do continue to enjoy it.

    ta said:
    January 19, 2008 at 1:49 am

    It will probably take me at least that long. I’m a slow reader anyway and I’ve got a few other things on the shelf, too. I just finished his section on Cetology which was interesting just because now I want to get a book about whales and do a comparison. Ok, I did fall asleep in the middle of the chapter so it’s not a page-turner!

Leave a Reply

