serendipty Russian version, part 2

Posted on

In my weeding, I came across this slim volume on writing poetry by Vladimir Mayakovsky called How Are Verses Made? When I opened the book at random, I found this quote that I liked:

I walk along, waving my arms and mumbling almost wordlessly, now shortening my steps so as not to interrupt my mumbling, now mumbling more rapidly in time with my steps. So the rhythm is trimmed and takes shape…Gradually individual words begin to ease themselves free of this dull roar. Several words just jump away and never come back, others hold on, wriggle and squirm a dozen times over, until you can’t imagine how any word will ever stay in it’s place…

Leave a Reply

