Tales from the Farm ~ Jeff Lemire

Posted on

talesfarm.jpgI just finished reading the first installment of the Essex County trilogy and although I would really like to settle down into my bedtime reading, I have to write a little something about this book. First off, I’ve said before that I don’t normally read graphic novels, but I don’t think I can make that claim anymore. It’s amazing what I’ve found that I like now that I stopped being such a reading snob. It’s true, I don’t read graphic novels the way most graphic novel people do, but I think I’m taken by a certain segment of the genre. I’m not into superheroes or some of that raunchy crap. I just love the way the pictures can tell or add to the story. Tales from the Farm was a wonderful little book. I read it in about an hour and I’m a slow reader. I was skeptical, because superheroes and hockey figure prominently in the story, and I’m not big into either of those, but the book has received a number of rave reviews. Well I can see why. Lemire manages to pack a lot of emotion into such a short book about guys no less. Lester, a ten-year-old, cape and mask wearing orphan lives on his Uncle Kenny’s farm. Kenny doesn’t really know what to do with Lester. No matter what he does, he seems to push Lester away. Lester befriends Jimmy, a former NHL hockey player who shares his love of comics. These three characters are really powerful. I have to agree with one of the reviews on the back of the book, “There’s a simplicity to Lemire’s work…that draws the reader in for the kill without their ever noticing the strings.” I’m can’t wait to read the next to installments

Leave a Reply

