Patricia Polacco

Posted on

polacco.gifI’m not sure if I mentioned this before, but my son seems to love Patricia Polacco. I personally think these books are a little old for him, but he actually requests them. It is true that he often falls asleep in the middle of the story, but he eventually makes it all the way to the end. I try to read one book before bed that is longer/more advanced. His fascination with Patricia Polacco started when we read An Orange for Frankie, which is a wonderful Christmas story. It’s about a family that lives in Michigan and they are all waiting for their father to return from the city with oranges for Christmas. A train line runs by the end of their property and the family makes breakfast for the conductor and a band of hobos that ride the train. I don’t want to give away the story (I cried the first two times I read it) but it is a wonderful story to read at Christmas, because it really takes the fizz out of our commercial Christmas celebrations. Anyway, I was surprised when my son kept wanting to read that one over and over, so I’ve continued bringing different Polacco books home and he seems to love them all. The illustrations are great and the stories are always nice. She often takes material from her own life or from family stories. Babushka’s Mother Goose, Something About Hensley’s, The Bee Tree and Enzo’s Splendid Gardens are the other books we’ve read and enjoyed. I loved this quote from The Bee Tree:

[Grandpa] spooned the honey onto the cover of one of her books. “Taste,” he said, almost in a whisper.
Mary Ellen savored the honey on her book.
“There is such sweetness inside of that book too!” He said thoughtfully. “Such things…adventure, knowledge and wisdom. But these things do not come easily. You have to pursue them. Just like we ran after the bees to find their tree, so must you also chase these things through the pages of a book!

2 thoughts on “Patricia Polacco

    kate said:
    February 25, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Ta, we have so many Patricia Polacco books, and I always cry when I read them to Stella–especially Thank You, Mr. Falker. Have you read that one yet? There is a similar scene with honey on a book in that story, as well.

    ta said:
    February 26, 2008 at 12:55 am

    Kate, I’m so glad you cry, too. That makes me feel better. We haven’t read Thank You, Mr. Falker. We’ll have to try that one next. Thanks for the recommendation. She has so many books it’s a little overwhelming sometimes. I took one home ( I think it was called The Butterfly) and when it was sitting in the pile of books to read before bed, I noticed the Nazi flag on the back and quickly put it of sight! We’ll have to save that one for when he’s a little bit older. I don’t want him to know about the bad things in the world just yet.

Leave a Reply

