Poem in Your Pocket Day

Posted on Updated on

I’m a little late getting this post out, my apologies. Yesterday was Poem in Your Pocket Day, sponsored by the Academy of American Poets. At work we gave out pocket-sized poems to patrons and the staff had a “secret poet” swap like “secret santa.” I received “Social Noted from Al Over: Mt. Olympus” by William Matthews on beautiful blue paper with silver flecks in it. It was quite lovely I must say. I knew who my secret poet was, because she loves mythology and the graphics and paper had her touch. I also got the poem The Reading Mother by Strickland Gililan which made me cry. I know, I can’t help myself. Finally, the director of my son’s Montessori Toddler program gave me, “Keep a poem in your pocket…” by Beatrice Schenk de Regniers. This was a whole lot of fun. It was great to hear people talking about poetry. So, what poems did I give out? I sent Poet in Residence at a Country School to my sons teachers. Poems from Jane Yolan’s Here’s A Little Poem to my sons classmates. “From Blossoms” by Li-Young Lee to my “secret poet” and “Persephone, Falling” by Rita Dove to my co-worker who loves mythology.

I’m in the middle of a little poetry binge. Why not? It’s National Poetry Month and there are several new books of poetry that just came out that I can’t wait to read. I’m still reading and really enjoying Behind My Eyes by Li-Young Lee. He is one of my top 10 favorite poets, for sure. I got the Persephone poem by Rita Dove from her book Mother Love. I had to bring that home. It’s about the bond between mother’s and daughters using the Persephone myth and it’s written mostly in sonnets. Seeing as how I used the Persephone myth in Eavan Boland’s poems as part of my thesis, it was a no-brainer. I also brought home Unmentionables by Beth Ann Fennelly and Woman Reading to the Sea by Lisa Williams. They’re both new and look great.

2 thoughts on “Poem in Your Pocket Day

    kate h said:
    April 25, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I’m very interested in the Fennelly and the Dove. I’m interested in hearing what you have to say about Fennelly. I have Letters to a Young Mothers on my Shelf.

    ta said:
    May 1, 2008 at 2:45 am

    I haven’t had a chance to start the Fennelly yet, but I did read Letters to a Young Mother right after I had my son. I enjoyed it very much, but I read it during those crazy, sleepless first months, so I can’t give you any specifics. I do remember her pregnancy being difficult and feeling like I was not part of the tribe of mothers who can share birth stories, but on the other hand I was thinking well maybe having a c-section has it’s upsides, too. I also remember her being very caring. And, I remember being jealous about the flex-time of a writer/prof. Congrats again on baby Zoe!

Leave a Reply

