Green Things

Posted on Updated on

Oh how Spring has sprung. When I got up this morning, I could smell the lilacs from my kitchen table throughout the entire first floor of my house. Lilacs are one of my all time favorite smells and one of the best things about my childhood home. We lived next to a sheet metal factory, but my bedroom window that didn’t overlook our town’s main street, was right above our row of lilac bushes. We have been out in the yard as much as we can. The beets and onions that I planted with my son are starting to come up. Now if I could teach him not to try and pull or dig them up that would be great. He loves tools. We are having a clash between tools and nature. He loves them both, but they don’t always mix. Worms are his latest obsession. He tries to dig up our garden to find them. Alas, that seems to be the one place in our yard devoid of worms but full of ants. Last year I divided my iris bulbs and threw them in a bucket. They survived the hot summer and snow storms and are sprouting in the bucket without any dirt. I can always find a worm in that bucket. I’ve just started reading Richard Louv’s book The Last Child in the Woods about nature deficit disorder. It’s a little disheartening so far. It was mentioned in the latest newsletter from my sons Montessori school. The Montessori kids seem to spend a lot of time exploring nature. We’re trying to add to that at home. Tools aside, I think we’re doing alright.

3 thoughts on “Green Things

    jeane said:
    May 20, 2008 at 12:11 am

    My toddler is trying to dig up the garden we just planted, too. She wants to find the seeds that aren’t sprouting yet! And worms and “pill bugs”. I have to find her other places to dig. I reviewed Last Child in the Woods a while back. It was pretty depressing, and made me vow to get my kid out in nature more often.

    Steph said:
    May 20, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I just planted two lilac bushes. I love the smell, too. Can’t wait till they bloom!

    ta said:
    May 21, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Steph – It is amazing how fast those lilac bushes take off. Ours is at least a foot taller than me and it was only a foot or two tall 3 or 4 years ago.
    Jeanne – We haven’t encountered any pill bugs yet. Are those the kind that curl up when you touch them? We’re trying to get our toddler out as much as possible, too. My husband and I are always talking about how things were different when we were kids. Even though he could play Donkey Kong with his left toe and quit Beaver Scouts because it interfered with the Brady Bunch, he was always outside or in the woods. Of course, I would never let our son do some of the things he did!

Leave a Reply

