Reading notes

Posted on

I’m well on my way with Moby Dick. I’ve decided that I’m just going to put almost everything aside for the moment and try and finish that up. I’m doing well. I’ve also been reading The Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv. I feel like I agree with most of what he’s written so far about kids needing to get out and get involved with nature. We are always going outdoors, but I guess reading this book just makes me work a little bit harder about making outside fun and a learning experience. Usually, I am the one who wants to go inside. My son and my dog both wanted to be out in the stinking heat yesterday even though they could barely move around. A little sad news on the gardening front. We waited a little too long before we got our soil tested. We’ve already planted the garden, but the soil test came back that we have a medium amount of lead. What does that mean? Not so good, but not horrible. We could just grow the tomatoes and zucchini, but none of the root crops or basil. But let’s face it, my son did eat some of that dirt and probably will try it again. So, we are going to dig everything up, dig out the old soil and truck in some new soil. It sounds a little extreme, but I don’t want to put all that time and effort into a garden that is potentially toxic. That’s not the best way to promote organic gardening.

Over the weekend I watched the documentary called the Hobart Shakespeareans about a 5th grade class/teacher in Los Angeles. It was amazing and inspiring. None of the students in the class spoke English as there first language, but they read and performed Shakespeare, Huck Finn, Of Mice and Men, Catcher in the Rye, A Separate Peace and The Lord of the Flies. I spent a good deal of the movie with happy tears. The kids were reading Huck Finn and boys (boys I tell you!) were crying while they read about Huck and Jim. The teacher, Rafe Esquith, is probably the most dedicated teacher I’ve ever seen. I just checked out his book called, Teach Like Your Hair’s on Fire.

One thought on “Reading notes

    Jeane said:
    June 11, 2008 at 5:27 am

    Last Child in the Woods was a very good book, I thought. Made me want to get out more. But my child doesn’t want to go outside in the heat.

Leave a Reply

