Ten Things I’m Into Right Now

Posted on Updated on

Toddler Haiku

For the past few nights, my son has been declaiming his poetry when my husband takes the dog out at night. It really doesn’t get much better than this. His main inspiration is the moon. Here’s his first and best:

I like dragons
The moon it camed up
like a sunflower

Nicholas Brisbane and Julia Grey
See previous post. More please!

Learning how to stitch
I’ve always preferred sewing by hand, so this is a real treat. I’m not sure what came over me, but I decided that I need to learn embroidery. It’s quiet, portable and I can do it during nap-time. My lake of craft-sense makes it a little funny. I can do the two stitches I’m working on, but I can’t thread the needle! I’ll get there and even if I don’t I’m having fun. I love sewing on muslin.

Picnic Table Murals

See header. My son loves to paint. Of course, it is very messy. Bringing it outside is a little less stressful. The child uses lots of paint!

Marcovaldo
By Italo Calvino. This is one of my favorite books/characters. It’s a series of vignettes. Marcovaldo is a poor factory worker in Italy whose life doesn’t lack adventure. He’s a dreamer and often times his schemes land the whole neighborhood in the hospital.

Blueberries and Raspberries
We picked a bunch last Sunday and got some more at the CSA this week. Love eating local, especially sweet berries. They haven’t lasted long enough to make a pie!

How Are Garden Grows
After all of our garden woes at the beginning of the season, our tomatoes are starting to have little tomatoes on them. The sunflower that my son planted has bloomed and our apples are starting to turn red.

First Christmas Presents
I bought some of my first Christmas presents and I’ve got my son working on some cards. He likes “gluing,” so I cut up some of our old cards from last year and let him piece them together as he likes. I’m also going to start a Christmas/Gift notebook, so I can jot down ideas and plans for gift-giving. I need to be a little bit more organized about the whole process.

Daybreak by Galway Kinnell
I’ve been reading a poem to our son each night at bedtime. This particular one is a favorite. I read it in an anthology called A Book of Luminous Things edited by Czeslaw Milosz.

Sleeping Boy Beside Me
We’ve been having trouble getting our little one to fall asleep. It’s never been his strong suit, but it’s been really hard lately. Now he’s asleep and oh so sweet.

2 thoughts on “Ten Things I’m Into Right Now

    Steph said:
    August 14, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Love the moon like a sunflower — what a little genius!

    And wow on the Christmas stuff. I am in awe of your preparedness.

    And I can totally relate to loving having the little guy finally asleep beside you!

    ta responded:
    August 17, 2008 at 1:04 am

    Thanks. No more moon haiku I’m afraid. I can’t remember the last time we saw the moon around here. It’s always raining. The whole Christmas thing is moving pretty slowly. I do like to get art supplies for my nieces this time of year because everything is on sale. What I really want to do is make that tree skirt you made last year, but my sewing skills are not up to it I don’t think and my sewing machine is still in the cellar!

Leave a Reply

