Japanese Literature Challenge

Posted on

In this world
We walk on the roof of hell,
gazing at flowers

~ Kobayashi Issa


Well why not? I’ve just joined the Japanese Literature Challenge. I already finished Haruki Murakami’s After Dark, so I’m a third of the way done. Just two more to go. I’m thinking about reading Goodbye Tsugumi by Banana Yoshimoto (I loved her book Kitchen) and maybe Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata. I’d love to add a graphic novel, but I haven’t come up with anything yet. I could also re-read my book of Haiku translated by Robert Haas. Issa’s haiku are by far my favorite. I love the combination of the irreverent and the profound.

2 thoughts on “Japanese Literature Challenge

    Bellezza said:
    July 27, 2008 at 3:25 am

    I’m so glad you joined! I’ve added you to the participants’ list on the Review Site (www.japlitchallenge2.blogspot.com), and if you want to be able to post just send me your email address so I can invite you. Welcome!

    tanabata said:
    July 27, 2008 at 4:35 am

    I hope to read After Dark for the challenge too. I read Snow Country for last year’s challenge and it’s very atmospheric. I need to read it again to really appreciate it I think.

Leave a Reply

