Planning Ahead

Posted on

So, I just finished the last book of the Spiderwick Chronicles on the bus this morning. I know that is my short story reading time, but I was almost finished. Why did I read them besides, well, fun? I’m planning ahead. It’s true my son is only 2, but someday he’s going to be 7 and I won’t be able to keep up with all the books he’s (hopefully) reading. I’m hoping he’ll be into fantasy like I was as a kid, but you never know.

Luckily my sister works at a used book store and is a pathological collector. We have a good collection of Magic School Bus books and a complete set of the Magic Tree House books. So, when I asked her to look out for the Spiderwick Chronicles, it took her about a month to conjure up all five. They’ve been sitting on my bureau for a week. My son was sick over the weekend, so I didn’t sleep much. What better way to pass the time? The books are short, fun and beautifully illustrated.

When I was pregnant, I met Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi at the Public Library Association Conference and had them sign a copy of The Field Guide (not the first book in the series, but the guide). I think of it as my first gift to my son. (I was superstitious and didn’t buy baby things until after he was born.) Why didn’t I buy all the books in the series and have those signed, too? Well, I guess it has something to do with the fact that I was six months pregnant and already weighed down with silly library swag. Curses. Why didn’t I do a better job of planning ahead then?

Leave a Reply

