Reading Notes

Posted on Updated on

Well I got my Breaking Dawn fix. I won’t say too much in order to avoid spoilers. I enjoyed the book and I was happy with the way it ended. I’ve heard that a lot of people are attacking Stephenie Meyer personally on their Amazon reviews and I think that’s silly. It is a work of fiction first and foremost and I guess I can’t say much else without spoilers. I do feel that when some authors get really popular, editors stop editing. Take J.K. Rowling as an example. Don’t get me wrong, I loved all of her books, but sometimes editing is a good thing. As much as I liked Breaking Dawn, there were times when I almost felt bored but the last 250 pages or so were really exciting. Maybe a little editing would have tightened things up.

I’m about a quarter of the way through Meyer’s adult book, The Host. I’m enjoying that as much or more than Breaking Dawn. When I first heard about it, I wasn’t really interested. I’m pretty selective about reading SciFi. I know I’m a snob and I should just quit it because I have no reason to be. But I heard good things about it (here and here) and thought I’d give it a try. So far so good, really good.

I’ve also been trying to finish Rita Dove’s book of poetry, Mother Love. I’ve downright loved most of the books in this collection. I’ve always liked the Demeter/Persephone myth (I based part of my Master’s thesis on it) and these poems have a wonderful blend of the classical myth with contemporary settings/issues. Here’s a passage that I particularly liked from her poem “Demeter Mourning”

I’ll not ask for the impossible;
One learns to walk by walking.
In time I’ll forget this empty brimming,
I may laugh again at
a bird, perhaps, chucking the nest –
but it will not be happiness,
for I have known that.

Leave a Reply

