Christmas in August?

Posted on

A couple of weeks ago, I attempted to get organized and start our Christmas cards early. I know I’m going to be strapped for time come December, so why not work on them now? I decided to do prints this year, because lasts years cards ended up being too complicated and mostly made by adults. I was inspired by a book about prints for kids that I can’t remember the name of. I thought our cards were simple enough, but I realized later that my son is much more into the open-ended crafts. I got all of our stuff together and brought it outside (paint outside is almost always less stressful than inside). I thought I had planned out everything. My son was wearing his smock and printing his snowmen (more or less where they were supposed to go) when a big gust of wind picked up our cards and scattered them. I was chasing them all over the yard and trying to hold them down with rocks (covered in dirt!). When I went in to get some clothespins to hang them on the canopy of my sons sandbox, I realized my husband had locked us out. Meanwhile, my son had lost all of his patience with making “snowmen” and wanted to just do his own thing. By the time, my husband let us back in, I was screeching like a banshee. I managed to salvage the cards, but not my sanity. We haven’t touched them since. I figure, I need a little break. But, it makes me wonder how the crafty moms do it? I think I’ll never be a hip mom, because I’m always, stressed, exhausted, chasing someone and wearing either smeared food or bodily fluids. I can look on that whole thing now and laugh, barely.

On another parenting note, I thought of another Fun for Nothin’ thing my son is really into right now. We call it pillow game. We started out just piling old pillows on the floor and jumping on them. We have tons of old pillows. I just don’t know what to do with them. It seems wrong to just throw them out. Anyway, now my son is turning his pillows into all kinds of things – usually a car or digger. I get to sit in the back. This morning he said he had to get his two carrots and dragged his rocking horse to the back of his “car” and that was that. Your guess is as good as mine.

2 thoughts on “Christmas in August?

    Bellezza said:
    September 4, 2008 at 12:49 am

    “I think I’ll never be a hip mom, because I’m always, stressed, exhausted, chasing someone and wearing either smeared food or bodily fluids.”

    Substitue “mom” for “teacher” and you have how I’m feeling lately. 🙂

    ta responded:
    September 9, 2008 at 12:28 am

    Oh, and I only have one! Sometimes I wonder how you teachers manage to stay sane. I can’t imagine if there were nine of my son running around me with only one teacher to help.

Leave a Reply

