Good Good Good

Posted on

I  just finished a reading spree of all books that I’ve loved. Of course, I didn’t want it to end, but it did. Now I’m in a little bit of a reading lull, because I’m not sure if I should try and continue the good luck or stop and go in a different direction. It seems odd for me to hit it right so many times in a row, but the last five books I’ve read were just what I wanted to read at the time. I just finished The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti which I read side by side with Graceling by Kristin Cashore. It was great fun to read these two faced-paced adventures on the heels of two more cerebral books (Edgar Sawtelle and The Little Book).

The Good Thief (which I keep calling The Book Thief because I loved that book, too) has been described as a cross between Dickens and Stevenson and aptly so. Tinti combines the desperation and grimness of Dickens with the mystery and adventure of Stevenson. I was quite taken with the characters. It’s odd to route for scoundrels, but you can’t help but love them. Tinti has a way of making normal folks the odd ones out in her book. Ren was endearing from the start and Benjamin Nab was the ultimate trickster. Sometimes, I think I”m a naive reader, but there were certain things in this book that I just wasn’t expecting.

Graceling had some fantastic characters as well. Katsa the main character who is “graced” with the ability to kill her opponents is a refreshingly strong female lead. Enter Prince Po a graceling fighter who can’t defeat Katsa, but is the first real challenge she’s had. He’s cocky and vain with striking gold and silver eyes and an uncanny ability to disarm Katsa’s thoughts. The cast of minor characters is equally strong and Cashore creates a wonderful fantasy world with her seven kingdoms. She gets an A+ on her knowledge of survival skills and her villain gave me the chills.

The question is what to read next?

One thought on “Good Good Good

    iliana said:
    October 11, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Hi – guess what… You’ve just won Sweetsmoke by David Fuller! This is from the giveaway I was having on my blog. Congrats. Could you send me an email with your address — I’ll forward that to the author so he can get you your copy.

Leave a Reply

