Homework

Posted on Updated on

I’m taking part in a Reader’s Advisory Roundtable and we have to read Darkness, Take My Hand by Dennis Lehane. This is supposed to be our benchmark for mysteries. It’s true, I don’t read much genre fiction, so I’m part of this roundtable to be schooled by my fellow librarians. But, I don’t think this is what I thought the benchmark for mysteries would be. Reading it, it feels more like thriller, suspense and oh yeah, I don’t like it. Sure, I want to find out what happens and that’s part of the “appeal,” but it’s disturbing and gross and he’s used the C word 3 times! I don’t like to read books that keep me up at night. I guess I need to find a different kind of mystery. For our homework, we also have to read a mystery of our choice. I think I’m going to go with the Mistress of the Art of Death. I’ve heard good things about it in bookblogland and it’s also historical fiction. Ok. It’s cheating in a way, because I already like historical fiction, but it’s my reward. I might read one of those food mysteries, too. I think they have the funniest titles and not something I would normally choose.

3 thoughts on “Homework

    Jeane said:
    October 13, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    What is a food mystery?

    ta responded:
    October 15, 2008 at 1:16 am

    I guess they’re technically called culinary mysteries. I’ve seen them while working at the library. They always have these funny food related titles like: Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Crime or Red Beans and Vice. I’m assuming they are about food in some way. Here’s a good list: http://www.wakefieldlibrary.org/supper-sleuths/culinary-mysteries/

    Jeane said:
    October 16, 2008 at 4:34 am

    Never heard of them before! Looks interesting, but I’m not into mysteries at all so I will just be curious from a distance…

Leave a Reply

