I know I should be reading, but…

Posted on

Okay, the holidays are fast approaching and though I’ve managed to control myself with the Reading Challenges this year, I’m going to try two of the Holiday Swaps. Last year we did the Christmas card swap hosted by Kids Craft Weekly and that was loads of fun. We got cards from 3 different continents! This year we have a better idea of how it works and my son actually made the cards himself, so I think it will be more meaningful for him.

holidaytraditions

The second swap I’m going to join is the Holiday Traditions Exchange over at Meg’s blog Sew Liberated.  Here’s what you need to send in your package:

1.) One handmade holiday decoration. Decorations made from any kind of medium are acceptable – from fabric to yarn, paper to paint.

2.) Your family’s favorite holiday recipe.

3.) A “Tradition” Tutorial. This is description of one of your family’s special holiday traditions. If needed, you should provide step by step instructions. (For example, if your family makes graham cracker candy houses each year, you would provide more concrete instructions.) You might also consider sending along a couple of photos of the tradition in action, or perhaps the materials needed to re-create the tradition if it is craft-related.

I just hope I can create a care package as nice as some of the ones I saw from last year. I have to come up with an idea for a homemade ornament and if you could see some of the ornaments I made as a child, you would know that I never did get that crafty gene passed on to every other female in my family. Oh well. I did make this for my Mom for her birthday/housewarming present. It’s not perfect, but I was so pleased that it resembles the pattern and that I actually finished it. I’m hoping it’s still the thought that counts!

Leave a Reply

