Catching Up …Or Not

Posted on

Do you ever feel like things are just out of your control? In addition to the usual hectic holiday season and weather that has trapped us in our house over the past 3 days, last week a sprinkler malfunctioned at the library where I work and caused some pretty serious damage. Most of the water landed on our Reference Desk where I spend most of my time at work. We spent the first day doing treage – trying to pull as many wet books away from the clean books and salvaging what we could. No one likes throwing out books, but we had to throw out brand new books as well as books from our original collection (circa 1850). It makes me very sad to think about that, but I think we are all grateful it was only one sprinkler and not all of them. Needless to say, I came home seriously tired every day last week. One night I fell asleep reading to our son, between 7:30 and 8pm.

I have managed to do some reading. I’m still reading Tinkers by Paul Harding, which is a lovely book. Harding writes beautifully. It’s taking me a while to get through because it demands to be read slowly. You can’t appreciate the language, imagery, all of the writer’s craft without taking it slow. I’m looking forward to hearing Mr. Harding read from his book at our library in February.

My Reader’s Advisory Roundtable is focusing on Fantasy this month and I just finished our benchmark book for this genre, Magic’s Pawn by Mercedes Lackey. I thought this book was slow to start, but then I got sucked into it. It was a little overdramatic for me, but interesting. It shares some common threads with another fantasy series I’m reading and thoroughly enjoying by Maria Snyder called the Study Series. I finished the first two books in the series and will pick up the third after I finish this post. Maria Snyder will also be visiting our library this spring. Working in a library does have its perks.  Oh and I did finish the Japanese Literature II challenge. More on all to follow.

Leave a Reply

