100 days 100 sonnets

Posted on

Here’s a little challenge for myself. A few months ago, I spent some time going through the Shakespeare section of our library, replacing some of our books that no one has checked out because they didn’t want to sneeze the whole time they were reading them. I came across Helen Vendler’s book The Art of Shakespeare’s Sonnets. I remember I was interested in reading it when the book came out, but I never got around to it. She dissects each of the sonnets and provides some interesting commentary. My goal is to read one sonnet a night and as much of the commentary as I can. It’s been a while since I’ve read criticism, so it will take some getting used to. I was never a huge fan I must say. I think it’s a manageable challenge though I did have to do a little catching up today because I fell asleep reading stories to my son at bedtime last night. I hate it when that happens.

Leave a Reply

