Garden Fever 2009

Posted on Updated on

sunflowerI spent some serious time over last long weekend with my nose in seed catalogs. I have high hopes for the garden this year as I do every year. I bought way too many seeds as usual. My favorite seed catalogs are Seeds of Change and Seed Savers Exchange. I try to buy organic and open-pollinated seeds. How could I be a Steward of Genetic Diversity otherwise. I know, I know. My husband always shakes his head when I say that! After I picked out my seeds, I took the catalogs to the library to see if we had some of the books that were listed for sale. I was particularly interested in the books on gardening with children and sadly we had none of these at the library, but I’m waiting to get them from interlibrary loan. Sunflower Houses and Roots, Shoots, Buckets and Boots both by Sharon Lovejoy  are the two I’m looking forward to getting soon.

renewingIn the meantime, I got Renewing America’s Food Traditions edited by Gary Paul Nabhan. He’s the founder of Native Seeds/SEARCH and he wrote the great book Coming Home to Eat: think Animal, Vegetable, Miracle a few years before Barbara Kingsolver. Anyway, this book is about endangered food – plants and animals. Nabhan breaks the country down into geographic food nations. I live in clambake nation for example. He provides examples of traditional foods from each area. I have never eaten a quince in my life and I have no idea what they taste like, but apparently they were popular in my area at one time. I was excited to see a winter squash called Boston Marrow in the book. It’s on my list of seeds to purchase.

2 thoughts on “Garden Fever 2009

    Jeane said:
    January 24, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Do you save your own seeds? I’ve thought of buying organic seed for my garden just so I could grow next year from my own saved seed.

    ta responded:
    January 25, 2009 at 12:47 am

    Back before I had my son, I did save some seeds. Tomatoes and squash are a little more complicated, so I never tried to save those. I did have a decent collection of garlic and potatoes. I was actually a listed member of the Seed Savers Exchange, but nobody requested any of my garlic bulbs because there were plenty of other people offering the same varieties. Saving seeds is one of those things that I hope I’ll be able to do in the future when I have more time. Maybe when I retire!

Leave a Reply

