No Nap, No Blog

Posted on

Ah. The joys of a son who does not like to nap. He is tired. He really should sleep, but he just won’t give in to sleep. I think he might be nearing a time when he gives up his nap altogether, but I know he is tired, because he’ll fall asleep around 4pm. Oddly enough it seems like he’s still teething even though he has all of his teeth. Enough of my woes, but let it be just a little bit of an excuse for me not keeping up. I have been reading a fair amount of good things. I’ll just mention a few here and hopefully I’ll do a real post soon. I finished a wonderful book that’s getting a lot of buzz (no pun intended) called Little Bee by Chris Cleave. I read my first Laurie Halse Anderson book called Wintergirls. A great graphic novel called Cairo by Willow Wilson and I’m savoring Elissa Elliott’s debut novel called Eve. I’ve never thought to call my self a mystery reader and I don’t read mysteries the way some folks do, but I have to admit that I’m stuck on two series in particular. I just finished Deanna Raybourn’s Silent on the Moor and I’ve been working my way through Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell series. They are both very different, but they have strong female characters, lots of historical details and just enough wit. I’ve really felt the need lately to balance out my literary fiction which can be depressing with fun reads, like mysteries or fantasy.

3 thoughts on “No Nap, No Blog

    Jeane said:
    March 3, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    Ah, I can sympthaize. My daughter quit napping when she was just under two, and nothing I did got her to nap regular again. She does go to bed earlier, though!

      ta said:
      March 4, 2009 at 12:20 am

      Oh no. Well. I guess I’m lucky he’s napped this long. Don’t you just miss that Mommy time?

    Jeane said:
    March 4, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Yes! I used to read a lot when she napped, or take a snooze myself. But now I get some quiet time in the evening when she’s gone to bed, so I still have a bit of “me time” in the day.

Leave a Reply

