Fragile Eternity – Melissa Marr

Posted on

fragileI am totally hooked on this series, which is just what I need right now. What happened to the freestanding books in my life. Oh yes, they are piled high on the nightstand begging to be read and not tossed aside for the latest installment of whatever. I will get to you soon. I promise.

As this is the third book in the Wicked Lovely series there are spoilers in this review, so stop if you were planning on reading them. Let me say that if you thought that you could just skip over Ink Exchange because it is about Leslie, Niall and Irial, that’s kind of a big mistake. Things happen in that book that are important to Fragile Eternity. Court politics and relationships are shaped in such a way in that book that you might find yourself  a little befuddled at the start of Fragile Eternity. Personally I tried to skip Ink Exchange (even though it is my favorite cover) and start Fragile Eternity, because I was so caught up in the story of Aislinn, Seth and Keenan. I read that Niall was the King of the Dark Court and said wait a minute.  How did that happen?

So, Fragile Eterenity begins with Aislinn as the new Summer Queen still totally in love with Seth, but Seth is feeling his mortality. He hates being weak – needing a bodyguard and being singed by Aislinn, literally. Meanwhile, Aislinn is finding herself drawn more and more to Keenan as the solstice draws near. While Wicked Lovely was mainly Aislinn’s story and Ink Exchange was Leslie’s story, Seth is the focal point of Fragile Eternity. So much depends on his actions. I really liked Seth up until this book, and while he did some things that make me anxious for the next installment in the series, I was so angry with him for most of the book. Because Aislinn is stuck between Seth and Keenan, she’s much weaker in this book. Seth and Keenan are both a little selfish and that can be frustrating.  Frankly I’m not sure who I want Aislinn to end up with, but I like Keenan more than I know I should. All things considered he is very patient for a faerie king and I’d just like to see what they might be like together. I know he’s selfish and has done some horrible things, but I’m totally smitten by the whole make you feel like summer just by looking at you thing.  Maybe she should just ditch the lot of them and find someone else? I haven’t heard anything about her next book, but this one ends in such a way that there must be another in the wings.

If you dare, there is a book trailer for Fragile Eternity on the Harper Teen site. Let’s just say that the casting for this one was not quite right. Okay, I was trying to be nice, but I can’t. It was horrible. There I said it. Pretty website otherwise.

6 thoughts on “Fragile Eternity – Melissa Marr

    Heather said:
    April 14, 2009 at 1:51 am

    I tried to skip Ink Exchange too. Definitely can’t do that!! I got 30 pages in and just had to stop and go back. I agree with you; I am torn between Seth and Keenan too. And that was one cliffhanger of an ending huh? I can’t wait for the next one!

    That was a pretty bad trailer wasn’t it? Ouch!

      ta said:
      April 14, 2009 at 2:02 pm

      I know I kind of feel bad about trying to skip Ink Exchange now, because it was such a great story. I actually like Irial, too. Especially after Sorcha’s comment about him and Niall. Have you heard anything about the next book? Re: the trailer – I never imagined Keenan looking like he was the captain of some prep school football team. I kind of thought he might look like a) someone who owns a nightclub and b) well, you know a faerie!

    Carl V. said:
    April 26, 2009 at 12:53 am

    That cover is even more beautiful than the last. Absolutely lovely. I could buy these books and frame them just because the covers are so fantastic.

      ta responded:
      April 26, 2009 at 6:19 pm

      I feel the same way. Beautiful covers get me every time. I always feel bad for authors when they have boring covers.

    Cynthia said:
    July 6, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    I love the series. I honestly would love to see Keenan and Aislinn come together as the King & Queen that was meant to be.

    What that would mean for Seth? I really liked him until the third book.

    I feel for Keenan and IMO he deserves happiness just as much, if not more so, as anyone else. I truly hope that he will triumph in the end and will be with his Summer Queen! For it to end any other way would be a disappointment!

      ta responded:
      July 8, 2009 at 1:01 am

      I’m so glad I’m not the only person on earth who likes Seth better after Fragile Eternity. I don’t love Keenan, but I still want to see Aislinn and Keenan together. I don’t know about Seth. I thought he was great in the first two books, but I just thought he was so selfish. I mean it’s okay to be upset about Keenan, but when you’ve been hanging out painting for six months while your girlfriend is humiliating herself to try and find you, show a little sympathy. We’ll see what the next installment brings!

Leave a Reply

