Easter Doings…

Posted on

apronWhen it comes down to the holidays, I start to really feel like a parent. Well, that and when I have to count to 3 which I never thought I would do. Anyway, the pressure is on in a good way. Looking back on it, my mother managed to make our holidays feel extra special. When I compared easter basket staples with my husband, we had very different items on our lists. Of course, we are trying to limit the sweet things with my son until absolutely necessary, so he won’t be getting any of the hollow sugar eggs with the scenes in them that I so wistfully remembered. Sugar just sent me into a sweet slump whereas it sends my son bouncing around like a pogo stick. I digress.

I did make him some cupcakes with peanut butter buttercream frosting from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. My sewing machine did not groan when I used it for the first time in 15 years to make him this apron. And he actually liked to watch me “jackhammer.” Okay, so I made the whole thing right in front of him, but it was from me not the Easter Bunny. I got these cool wooden nesting eggs that came with watercolors and I made a couple of these recycled journals for coloring. He also got a whale shark that was much bigger than I thought it was going to be when I ordered it, but it makes a grand splash in the tub! What are your easter traditions?

Leave a Reply

