Jeaniene Frost ~ Halfway to the Grave

Posted on

halfway-to-the-grave-lgThis post is long overdue, as I read this book at the end of spring. I figured now was as good a time as any to review it, because Destined for an Early Grave comes out next week. I recently pre-ordered  it at my local bookstore and I’m starting to feel a little giddy. Halfway to the Grave was my first urban fantasy/paranormal romance. I read it (and the rest of the books in the series) as part of the Once Upon A Time Challenge and also in preparation for a fantasy genre study that we are doing at work. The genre study is part of a grant that I’m working on. While a co-worker and I were going over a list of potential benchmarks, for Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance, she said she might cry if people read Halfway to the Grave and hated it and that she liked it so much that the front cover of her copy was falling off . I thought that’s a ringing endorsement if there ever was one. I’d never read any urban fantasy or paranormal romance, but I was intrigued. To me the Jeaniene Frost books had been the ones with the pretty woman on the cover always wearing spiky heels. True I am a former book snob, and I did try to sneak Halfway to the Grave off the shelf without anyone seeing. I didn’t tell my co-worker that I was reading it because I was afraid that I wouldn’t like it. No worries there. I loved it. And, it was pretty much the straw that broke my book snob camel’s back. I blushingly confessed to my co-worker that I read and loved the book. It was quite fun to see her shock when I told her. I have to say, that reading has all of a sudden become more fun. But wasn’t there supposed to be a review in here somewhere?

Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father—the one responsible for ruining her mother’s life. Then she’s captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She’s amazed she doesn’t end up as his dinner—are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn’t have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

Jeaniene Frost has created two fantastic characters in Cat and Bones. Cat is wonderful, because she’s very strong and passionate. You could almost say that her one big fault is that she is so dead-set on what is right and wrong that she can’t see any shades of gray. Yet Bones, who is physically much stronger and powerful than Cat, is the one who tempers her big emotions. After I finished this book, I realized that probably for the first time I can remember, I had a total book-crush.  Bones does several things that I would never stand for coming from a human, but some how he pulls it off. For example, I hate it when men call women kitten. But when Bones chooses that as a nickname for Cat, it is both funny and endearing. It may have started out as an insult, but it becomes something special between the two of them. No one else in their right mind would dare call Cat that. Frost’s secondary characters are equally quirky and likable. Combine that with a storyline that is fast-paced and action-packed. I couldn’t put this book down. As with any good series, you’ll want to have the second book, One Foot in the Grave, handy when you finish the first. I assure you, you will need to read it as soon as your done.

Oh and you might want to check out the booktrailer for Destined at Jeaniene’s site:

http://www.jeanienefrost.com/

This one is pretty good until the fight scene. For some reason, that’s not how I pictured vampires fighting. I don’t like how they portrayed Cat, I think that the woman on the covers of the books is a much better fit, both in looks and dress. Still it is fun to watch. Can’t wait until Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

