Main Street

Posted on

It’s true that I do a lot of my shopping online these days, but I still prefer to buy things from local stores. Not the mall mind, I can hardly breathe when I get in one and I feel like I’ve walked through the Sahara Desert when I get home. I love to shop at my local bookstores even though they have major faults. One is cramped and towering with books. It is impossible to find anything, so I usually save that one for special orders or specific books because they have an amazing discount. The other is a nice-looking shop, but customer service is somewhat lacking and isn’t that the point of a small shop? I pre-ordered a book from them and it didn’t come until a week and half after the book came out. I gave up and bought it at Target before they called me. Last weekend we went to Maine. Whenever we’re in the area, I love to stop at the Maine Coast Book Shop & Cafe. They seem to have everything just right.I want to buy books there just because I love there shop. No discount, no problem. It’s worth it.

This is not book related, but on the same street, there is a truly lovely jewely store called Stars. I never noticed it before,  but I brought my watch in to be sized. The owner was wonderful and was very interested in my watch because it’s solar. (Me too, that’s why I bought it.) Wonderfully helpful the best kind of customer service. If I lived there, I would probably be buying more jewelry than I would normally. The store itself is gorgeous. It’s one of those places where you walk in and feel like you are surrounded by beauty. If you’re ever in the area, do stop by. My local jeweler is okay, but I never get the same feeling when I walk into that shop.

2 thoughts on “Main Street

    kate said:
    August 19, 2009 at 2:10 am

    Hmm, that sounds lovely. I might need to take a trip to Maine and buy a necklace (and a few books)!

      ta responded:
      August 19, 2009 at 2:30 pm

      It might just be worth the trip. If I didn’t have husband and child in tow, I would have spent more time (and money) at both places!

Leave a Reply

