Angels’ Blood ~ Nalini Singh

Posted on

Yup. Another one I read for the cover. No, not this cover, the cover for the sequel – Archangel’s Kiss. I thought it was  the same artist who did the covers for Demon Forged and Demon Blood by Meljean Brook but it wasn’t. Still, you might want to check out her post on cover art here.  Nalini Singh has an  interesting interview with the actual cover artist, Tony Mauro, on her blog. Thank goodness, I have bad eye sight and an etch-a-sketch brain, because the cover on Archangel’s Kiss and the description are both total spoilers for Angels’ Blood. If you don’t want spoilers don’t look at it! When I first looked at it, I thought that a certain very large something on the cover behind Elena was a gargoyle. I’m not going to tell you what it really is, but, um, not a gargoyle!

Elena Deveraux is a born guild hunter. She’s one of the best at tracking wayward vampires and bringing them back to their masters – the angels. No, not the cherubic or guardian kind, but the bad-ass ones that rule the world. When Elena’s talent draws the attention of Raphael, the Archangel of New York, she wants to run. Archangel’s are cruel and dangerous and Raphael is no exception. Elena has no choice but to except the job, but she won’t let Raphael push her around –  something that infuriates and intrigues the archangel. While Elena is drawn to her client’s advances, she fears for her life if she gives in to them.

I loved this book. It was right up there with Meljean Brook and Jeaniene Frost for me. It was the kind of book that I wanted to devour, but was afraid to finish because I didn’t want it to end. If I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about reading it. I love the world Nalini Singh created where angels are not the nicest of creatures even though they are amazingly attractive and vampires are their play things. The image of Elena watching the angels take off from Archangel Tower was truly fascinating. Who doesn’t want to fly? Speaking of Elena, the characters in this book were great. Elena is unbelievably courageous and proud. Raphael is stunning. And, all of the secondary characters really add to the story. I was particulary taken with Raphael’s seven – his elite guard. The loyalty they show was almost hard to believe. My favorite of the seven was Illium, the showoff with blue wings who is fascinated with mortals. I must have forgotten the description of the sequel, because I didn’t see the ending coming at all and I’m grateful for that because it was good. Can’t wait for February.

One thought on “Angels’ Blood ~ Nalini Singh

    Chelle said:
    January 10, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    All this time we talked about I forgot to ask: Did you read the excerpt on Nalini’s site?

Leave a Reply

