ALA Midwinter Roundup

Posted on

When I came home from ALA Midwinter I thought my husband was going to have a fit. He was going on about how we need to de-clutter the house and there I am with bags full of books. Oooops. So, after I distributed all the mother guilt picture books and posters and gadgets to my son and sorted out my books into nice neat piles, I packed them up into two neat boxes and put them on my sewing table on the back porch. Later I found out that my husband wasn’t upset about the new books, he just wanted to set the table and for me to get rid of some old books. Hmmm. Well, I’ve been sneaking peeks at those goodies in the boxes and I thought I’d share some of what I got with you. I thought my camera had gone kerplunk, but my husband managed to resurrect it from the dead for about the third or fourth time, so I did get to sneak in a few photos. A strange coincidence resulted in Chelle and I coming home with the exact same number of books.

Authors abound

I went to a great presentation on books to movies featuring Eric Van Lustbader, Chuck Hogan, Tracy Chevalier and Julie Powell. I love to hear writers talk about the writing process and I wasn’t disappointed. There were plenty of other authors around in the exhibit halls, too.

Remarkable Creatures – Tracy Chevalier: I have loved everything I’ve ever read by her. I can’t wait to read this one about the fossil hunter Mary Anning. I first heard of her in Chet Raymo’s book Walking Zero. Natural history and historical fiction combined!
Last Snow – Eric Van Lustbader
Prince of Thieves and Devils in Exile – Chuck Hogan
American Widow – Alissa Torres: This looks like a well-done graphic novel about 9/11. I’m sure I’ll shed a tear or two reading this one.
Smudge’s Mark – Claudia Osmond
How I Nicky Flynn Finally Get a Life and a Dog – Art Corriveau

Other Adult Titles:
Book of Fires – Jane Borodale
Marrowbone Marble Company – M. Glenn Taylor: I’m really looking forward to this one. I love books with interesting occupations. The HarperCollins folks were raving about it, too.
Beautiful Maria of My Soul – Oscar Hijuelos: Never mind I’ve forgotten all the details from Mambo Kings
Making Toast – Roger Rosenblatt: Why did I take this one. I was crying when they should the snippet from the interview with the author.
Solitude of Prime Numbers – Paolo Giordano
This Book is Overdue – Marilyn Johnson: A little librarian love can never hurt.
Claude and Camille: A Novel of Monet – Stephanie Cowell
Wench – Dolen Perkins-Valdez
Some YA Books I’m looking forward to reading

Okay, so I knew enough to snag Linger, but I’m totally indebted to Chelle for some of the other picks. She has yet to steer me wrong with a book recommendation. A few of these I got just because I happened to be standing next to her. I am so looking forward to Mistwood. When the HarperCollins marketing person was booktalking it, it was like she was recommending the book to me!
Linger – Maggie Stiefvater
Pale Assassin – Patricia Elliott
Rules of Attraction – Simone Elkeles
The Chosen One – Carol Lynch Williams
Prince of Mist – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Suburb Beyond the Stars – MT Anderson
Green Witch – Alice Hoffman
Hearts at Stake – Alyxander Harvey
Mistwood – Leah Cypess
Ship Breaker – Paolo Bacigalupi
Nightshade – Andrea Cremer
No Man’s Land – Lesley Hauge
Sisters Red – Jackson Pearce
Conspiracy of Kings – Megan Whalen Turner
Education of Bet – Lauren Baratz-Logsted
Before I Fall – Lauren Olive
Ninth Ward – Jewell Parker Rhodes
Incarceron – Catherine Fisher
Sir Charlie – Sid Fleischmen
Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 – Tim Hamilton
Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species a Graphic Adaptation – Michael Keller

For the Younger Set
Crunch – Leslie Connor
Crispin – End of Time – Avi
Cosmic – Frank Cottrell Boyce
13 Treasures – Michelle Harrison
Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place – Maryrose Wood

2 thoughts on “ALA Midwinter Roundup

    Chelle said:
    January 22, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Yay for this post! 🙂

    I didn’t realize you snagged a copy of PALE ASSASSIN. (That one is sitting on my shelf, too. Buddy read, maybe?? But then, we could do that with any of the others we overlapped on.)

    Really liking the cover for SMUDGE’S MARK. Curious what you’ll make of Chuck Hogan’s two. Let me know? I saw PRINCE OF THIEVES sitting on the to-be-shelved cart and almost picked it up.

    Still amazed we got the same number!

      ta responded:
      January 22, 2010 at 7:39 pm

      Thanks. I tried to get it up ASAP, alas no links. I forgot to tell you I got that one, which is surprising, because I thought I was chattering on and on Sat. morning. It was the only copy on a table with ARCs and it looked good and the cover looked familiar, so I’m guessing you posted about it on your blog. I wouldn’t mind doing a buddy read for that one.

      I like the cover for Smudge’s Mark, too. I told the editor and she said it was featured somewhere in Canada because of the cover. I’m curious about Prince of Thieves if I ever get a chance I’d like to try it out. It will be different for me, but I was really intrigued when he was talking about it. Sympathetic bad guys can be interesting.

Leave a Reply

