Poets and Writers

Posted on

I used to subscribe to Poets and Writers, but I let my subscription lapse. A little while ago, I got a new subscription and I was surprised to see how the magazine had changed. I’m not sure if I’m more mature now, or that they have more interesting features. When I first got it, I read the main article on a featured writer or poet and then went straight to the back to see if any of my former classmates had won any awards. So shallow. Now I find the articles about writing much more engaging. They also have some neat things like first lines from new books. Here’s my favorite from the latest issue:

Every artistic movement from the beginning of time is an attempt to figure out a way to smuggle more of what the artist thinks is reality into the work of art. – David Shields

I also like the section that highlights different literary journals. I love the idea of Abe’s Penny. Every week you get a postcard with an image and part of a narrative. How cool is that. Plus, I love getting snail mail!

I’d love to hear about any writing magazines or literary journals that you like to follow.

One thought on “Poets and Writers

    Chelle said:
    March 6, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    “Every week you get a postcard with an image and part of a narrative. How cool is that.”

    Very cool!!

    It’s such a shame, though, that so many lit journals are no more. I had a few favorites back in college, but they’re gone now.

Leave a Reply

