First Drop of Crimson ~ Jeaniene Frost

Posted on

If you haven’t read any of Jeaniene Frost’s books, this is a spin-off from her Night Huntress series featuring Cat and Bones. In this book, Spade and Denise share the spotlight. Not surprisingly, it starts out with Denise in a bar. Her cousin confesses that a recent death in the family probably wasn’t from natural causes. He feels like he is being followed and is afraid that his life might be next. As they go to leave, they are attacked by a shape-shifting demon. When the demon demands Denise find her long lost relative or he will kill her family, she enlists Spade’s help. Spade agrees, because he doesn’t want to bother Cat & Bones (they could use a little time on their own), but he is leery of getting involved with a human. To Spade, humans are either food or diversions, but Denise is no longer your average human.

I have to say that I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would. Frankly, I wanted another Cat & Bones book. Something that might ease the pain of Destined for an Early Grave! I’ve always liked Spade, but Denise was a character who didn’t seem to have much depth. She seemed like just another party girl to me. Finally, the cover was a big turn off. That man is not my Spade for sure. He’s ugly and snarling. Not that Spade never snarls, but I imagine him a little more elegant and better looking. I kept wrestling with my image of Spade and the guy on the cover.

All those issues aside, I fell right into this book. It has them same feel and pacing as the Night Huntress books and I stayed up way too late reading it. It was hard to believe, but Spade and Denise do have chemistry. It was nice to see her grow as a character and to get more of Spade’s backstory. I was worried that Denise was going to move on without thinking of Randy, but that was dealt with in a rather nice way. It was also great to get more details of the Night Huntress world. I sure did have the wrong image of Ian in my head! Not to be outdone as a supporting character, Bones makes a great appearance. Some other familiar faces show up as well as a few good, new secondary characters.

Did it  make me want to read Cat & Bones #5 ASAP? Yes it did!

2 thoughts on “First Drop of Crimson ~ Jeaniene Frost

    Chelle said:
    April 3, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    So Bones makes an appearance, huh? Did you tell me that. ‘Cause I might have to read this for that alone. Not any time soon, but still.

      ta responded:
      April 9, 2010 at 1:46 pm

      It’s actually kind of funny too, because he’s not happy!

Leave a Reply

