Thursday Thirteen: Owls

Posted on

I recently saw a live owl demonstration and the presenters mentioned a few books about owls. So that got me thinking about other books about owls, or with owl characters or just with owl in the title. Here’s what I came up with:

Owl Babies – Martin Waddell: My son had this as a board book and it’s very sweet. 

Owl Moon – Jane Yolen: This is one of those books where you think, “Hey, I didn’t know people did that!” I had never heard of the term “owling” until about two years ago when I first read this book.

Central Park in the Dark: more mysteries of urban wildlife – Marie Winn: Is there really nature in NYC. Just kidding. This looks interesting. I’m always fascinated when nature inserts itself in urban environments. One of the blurbs from the book mentions “slug sex.” Maybe I’ll skip that chapter!

Downtown Owl – Chuck Klosterman: Somewhere in North Dakota, there is a town called Owl that isn’t there. Disco is over but punk never happened. They don’t have cable. They don’t really have pop culture, unless you count grain prices and alcoholism. People work hard and then they die. They hate the government and impregnate teenage girls. But that’s not nearly as awful as it sounds; in fact, sometimes it’s perfect. (Amazon)

Edenville Owls – Robert Parker: I haven’t read any books by Robert Parker and I kind of feel bad about that. I’m not sure, but is this a YA?  I didn’t know he wrote books for a younger audience?

Good-night, Owl! – Pat Hutchins: We got to borrow the gigantic storytime version of this book from the library. Of course, that made it extra cool, but it is a fun book in any size. Lots of animal noises. 

Owl at Home – Arnold Lobel: How did I miss Arnold Lobel as a child? I can tell just by looking at it, that it was around then. It is so seventies. I think books from that time period even have there own smell!

The Night Owls – The Timony Twins:  This graphic novel series looks fantastic! “A trio of detectives—nerdy scientist Ernest Baxter, spunky flapper Mindy Markus, and wiseguy gargoyle Roscoe—investigates supernatural cases in Prohibition-era New York. Their main adversary, Mr. You, is a blank-faced baddie who rips off people’s faces to wear as his own (don’t worry; they slip easily back onto their original owner’s heads), but they also tangle with Bluebeard and Rumpelstiltskin, not to mention a few vampires, werewolves, mummies, and a giant owl creature.”

The Owl Keeper – Christine Brodien-Jones: I recently met this author and she is wonderful. Very nice and after she finished reading from her book, I wanted to run out and read it! I love the cover and the illustrations.

Harry Potter – J.K. Rowling: There are a lot of owls in this one. But of course, Hedwig is my favorite.

The Owl Killers – Karen Maitland: “England, 1321. The tiny village of Ulewic teeters between survival and destruction, faith and doubt, God and demons. For shadowing the villagers’ lives are men cloaked in masks and secrecy, ruling with violence, intimidation, and terrifying fiery rites: the Owl Masters.” Okay, this one sounds scary to me and the cover is a little creepy, too.
Owls and Other Fantasies: Poems and Essays – Mary Oliver: Mary Oliver has the nature poem down to a science.
Wesley the Owl: the remarkable love story of an owl and his girl – Stacey O’Brien: How cute is that fluff ball on the cover?
3 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen: Owls

    Christine Brodien-Jones said:
    June 11, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Tricia,
    I love this post on owls and literature!! Owls are such magnificent, mysterious creatures.
    I’ve been wanting to read “The Owl Killers” too – it sounds kind of Gothic and creepy, for sure! Another book, well a series really, featuring owls: Kathryn Lasky’s “Guardians of Ga’hoole” – I’ve yet to read them, but the books sound fascinating…
    Thanks for mentioning “The Owl Keeper”! (:
    Cheers,
    Christine

    Jeane said:
    June 11, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    I’d love to read more books about owls. What a great list! I have one on my shelf I haven’t read yet called Baby Owl, a nature book by Audrey Lang. Lots of gorgeous photos, but I haven’t read it yet. And for another take on living with an owl pet, there’s an older but very charming book simply called Owl, by one William Service. I recommend it!

    ta responded:
    June 12, 2010 at 12:50 am

    I keep coming up with more books to add to this list! I haven’t heard of any of the books you’ve recommended!

    Jeane: The cover for Baby Owl is really nice. I’ll have to try and find it. We actually have the William Service book in our library system, I might request it. It had an interesting subtitle on Amazon.

    Christine: I love to mention The Owl Keeper! I’m bringing a copy down to my niece in Richmond in a few weeks. I think she is going to love it and hopefully share it with her friends! I hadn’t heard of that series, but it looks great. If only I had more time to fit in all those books.

Leave a Reply

