Getting Ready for the Youth Media Awards

Posted on Updated on

About a month ago, I decided I needed to catch up on my reading for the Youth Media Awards. I checked a bunch of Mock Newbery lists, went to my library and came home with a pile of books. The awards are on Monday, and I’m happy to say that I made it through most of the books in my stack. Here are the books that I brought home.

Of course, the Newbery committee may choose something I’ve never even heard of, but I’m hoping it will be one of the books that I read. I didn’t get to read Circus Mirandus and my son is reading Book Scavenger so I didn’t get a chance at that one either. I really loved Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead, but I felt that this might too close to YA for the Newbery.  While I was reading Fish in a Tree, I thought that it would definitely be the Newbery pick. It was so compelling and I tore through it. I changed my mind when I started reading Echo. I still haven’t finished it, but it is such a magical story I’m hoping it will win. Fingers crossed. I’ll be posting reviews of each of these soon.

 

Leave a Reply

